pool project manager service job project manager construction customer service customer experience
Anthony Sylvan's reply to:

Anthony Sylvan - Staff Review from Ridley Park, Pennsylvania

I'm so sorry to hear this. I'd really appreciate the opportunity to speak with you to better understand your experience and to try to find a positive resolution to these concerns. Unfortunately, I have been unable to locate an account based on your feedback. Please send me an email, customercare@anthonysylvan.com, with the best phone # to reach you.

I hope to speak with you soon.

Very Sincerely,

Owen
Customer Care
Review
#640030 Review #640030 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Me experience ended in the showroom with the arrogant money hungry elitist salesman who spoke down to me because he assumed I couldn't afford their overpriced poorly constructed piece of ***×!

Anthony Sylvan's reply to:

Leaking | Anthony Sylvan review from Bethpage, New York

I'm really sorry to hear this and I'd like to help. Unfortunately, I have been unable to locate an account based on your feedback. Please send me an email, customercare@anthonysylvan.com, with the address on your account and the best phone # to reach you.

I hope to speak with you soon.

Very Sincerely,

Owen
Customer Care
Review
#605712 Review #605712 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Damaged or defective

I have my pool built by Anthony Sylvan, and the sale guy told me they are the best in the world with life time warranty. So I built a pool with a spa.

My spa was leaking right after it was finished, the filter always leaks. At first, they managed to get a service guy came out a few times, he managed to make the leaking not noticeable, but it still there. I was tiered dealing with them, so I replaced a o-ring for the pool filter, that fixed the filter leaking issue, but the SPA leaks are still not fixed.

Now it is getting worse daily, and it is hard to get hold of them, I left messages a couple of times, but nobody bothered to call me back. So far, I haven't been able to get any answer yet....

Anthony Sylvan's reply to:

Still no final inspection | Anthony Sylvan review from Lexington, North Carolina

Thank you very much for bringing these concerns to our attention and for allowing us the opportunity assist. We were so sorry to hear about your frustrating experience, but we're happy that we were work together to find a positive resolution to your concerns.

Very Sincerely,

Owen
Customer Care
Review
#537813 Review #537813 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Had a pool built 2 years ago by Anthony Sylvan pools in Charlotte, NC. After the pool decking cement was re-poured due to sinking,...we are still waiting to pass the final inspection(1 year later) which we failed due to step heights not being to code.

Company said in Jan 2014 it would be taken care of.....still waiting. Also code requires fencing around back wall, railings down steps. Still not done! Now light doesn't work.

Notified company, said they would take care of the problems...still waiting. Phone calls useless! Same story "we'll take care of it.

ok..WHEN??? Now dealing with the Better Business Bureau to help.

Anthony Sylvan's reply to:

Brand new pool leaking!!! Stay away use another pool company!!! | Anthony Sylvan review

Thank you very much for bringing these concerns to our attention and for taking the time to speak with us about these concerns. We were very sorry to hear about your experience, but we're happy that we were able to work together to reach a positive resolution.

Very Sincerely,

Owen
Customer Care
Review
#516888 Review #516888 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Never use Anthony sylvan pools. What a horrible experience and it's not over yet!!!11 months have passed since contracts were signed.

We have a brand new pool that is leaking. We have a brand new pool with the wrong diving board jig installed. It has been 2 weeks that my emails have been ignored regarding the diving board, there simply not responding. I cannot get a C/O so I cannot use the pool.

They have there contracts worded in a way that you pay them 100% of there money before the pool is completed. They have been out 3 times to investigate the leak it's still leaking.

Stay clear avoid the aggravation. I bet things would be different if we still owed them money.

Anthony Sylvan's reply to:

Bait and Switch Ande Now Breach of Contract | Anthony Sylvan review from Baltimore, Maryland

Thank you very much for bringing these concerns to our attention and for taking the time to work with us to reach a positive resolution.

Very Sincerely,

Owen
Customer Care
Review
#499280 Review #499280 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Anthony Sylvan Salesman brought out brochure of choices of concrete patterns to choose from during meet and greet on April 18, 2014 and an addendum was created to the contract on the agreed price. Our choice and color selection was made by us from the choices provided by Anthony Sylvan Salesman.

Now on June 17, 2014 after many emails we were told our project will not continue until we pay more money for the concrete. This is the second work stoppage this company has done because of their failure to comply with the agreed addendum to the contract concerning the concrete.

The first work stoppage occurred on May 30, 2014 at lasted for two weeks. This is one of many issues we have been faced with in dealing with the Maryland Office of Anthony Sylvan and will post each issue separate has we proceed through the process.

Anthony Sylvan's reply to:

Anthony Sylvan finally is trying to resolve old issues.

Than you very much for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We have located your account and will be contacting you to better understand these concerns and to try to find a positive resolution.
Review
#493676 Review #493676 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$10000
Tags
  • worst pool company

Update by user May 22, 2015

They are NOT trying to resolve issues from the past. They will threaten you with legal action if you don't settle with them for almost nothing.

They will say in order to settle you must remove any negative posting about Anthony Sylvan Pools and sign a legal document agreeing to NEVER say anything negative about their company to anyone. I don't call that trying to settle. They offer a couple hundred dollars for major damage, denial of claim, refusal to repair their shoddy workmanship. They did a whole bunch of pools and many had problems.

Sure, they did some that were fine but WAY TOO MANY had issues that at the time, they refused to handle.

All they kept saying is that I must have done something wrong when they did the install and they did the weekly maintenance on the pool. I WOULD NOT recommend using Anthony Sylvan to do your pool.

Update by user Jun 04, 2014

This happened in Las Vegas, NV with their office in Henderson, NV

Original review posted by user Jun 04, 2014

I reposted a Complaint about Anthony Sylvan. They were hired and paid to build my pool in Las Vegas from the Henderson office. I get a phone call from Alex. He said he's been with AS Pools for about a year. He is contacting all individuals that have had a problem with their company throughout the US. Because I sold that home, he said there really isn't much they can do. I said if I did still have the pool it would need to be completely resurfaced to correct the problem. He said that has happened. He asked what I wanted in order for me to sign a document saying I would never post negative statements online again and I would need to remove all the negative comments already posted. I said, no problem. Make me a offer. I was thinking 10 % of the cost of my pool. With that said, Alec offered me $200. I said, No thanks. He then told me that eventually this is going to get settled. Our company isn't going to tolerate false statements to be posted online. I took that as a threat. I said, Thanks for calling. Then hung up the phone.

He said one of the lies I told was, saying thousand of customers were unhappy. I don't recall that post. Perhaps I should have said, many, many, many, many people have filed complaints against Anthony Sylvan.

Let me share with you Alex's phone number. 1-215-489-5625. If you have filed a complaint against ASPools in the past 10 years, let's put Alec to work making things right for all their unsatisfied customers.

Many problems - Anthony Sylvan review
Many problems - Anthony Sylvan review
Many problems - Anthony Sylvan review
Many problems - Anthony Sylvan review
Many problems - Anthony Sylvan review
Many problems - Anthony Sylvan review
Thank you for sharing these concerns with us and for taking the time to work with us to reach a positive resolution. Very Sincerely, Owen Customer Care
View full review
Featured
Review
#443196 Review #443196 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Anthony Sylvan's reply to:

The worst pool company on the earth | Anthony Sylvan review from Los Angeles, California

I'm so sorry to hear this and thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. I'd really appreciate the opportunity to speak with you to better understand your concerns, but unfortunately I have been unable to locate an account based on your feedback. Please send me an email, customercare@anthonysylvan.com, with the address on your account and the best phone # to reach you.

I hope to speak with you soon.

Very Sincerely,

Owen
Customer Care
Review
#423673 Review #423673 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Tags
  • worst pool company

Never Ever Never Ever buy a pool from Anthony Sylvan Pool Company

It should be listed as Anthony Sylvan Clown Show, they have all these people running around all independent contractors that only know their job or part of all the steps needed to be completed.

The problem is they are not employees of Anthony Sylvan but independents and they do not talk with or plan out the handoff from one step to the next. No one checks or cares if the last guy did his job right or finished it at all , each contractor just shows up and starts what he knows ready to not.

Now I married a Mexican you can’t say I do not like Mexicans as a people I married one. But my god if you are working a job someone on the job needs to be able to talk to the home owner.

However you know how this all works and it is unfair to those worker too. Some rich white guy charges a lot of money to do the work and then hires low wage people who really do not care.

So I am completely remodeling a new model home nuts I know but I wanted it all my way, I have so much work to do I having every trade in the house, painters, plumbers, dry wall guys electricians and on and on.

So Anthony Sylvan came to my house give me a price and tells me that is everything they need and will not need me to make any other decisions or take up your time after you sign the deal, he said the next thing you will hear from us is get in the pool.

WOW great just what I wanted to get a pool in and use none of my time.

I had to pay another contractor they use to take out all my plants and clear the yard for the pool install, then that person was going to tile the yard after the pool was in too. So the deal was he would remove all the landscaping put all my plants in pots and leave then for installing when the pool was in.

I came home that first day and found all my plants in the trash, and all my lighting ripped out, nice but just the start.

The next problem, and remember I wasn’t supposed to put any time into this build, they laid out the pool and re-barred it all, then the electrician came in and installed all the electric and lights. I checked the pool that night to see what had been done and if I could truly trust them. While I ordered two lights in the pool and they installed one. So I waited a few days to see if the hot shot crew leader jobsite manager would notice the mistake, and he never did, No Attention to detail with this company.

I thought about just letting them spray the cement in and then have to cut it out again but I would pay later if it cracked apart, so I asked why only one light was installed when I paid for 2. You know the drill I got a SORRY.

Next they continued the gas line bought down from the meter for my pool heat to supply a BBQ on the other side of the house. It would be so much easier since a trench was already for the most part there it would be just dropping in line in the ground. They said there would be an additional charge I said I know but how much could it be since we were more the ¾ of the way there. The came back with a price of $2600 hundred since I had told them to do it already and send me a bill I had to pay it. $2600 for 30 foot of hose, and in my sign contract it states very clearly any additional gas pipe needed will cost $16.50 a foot, I think I was screwed here do the math.

Now there is a long deep trench opened for the gas line and since I was putting tile over most of my small backyard I bought a 2 inch pvc pipe and asked them to drop it in the trench so I can run wires underground after the tile is installed.

They closed the trench and never put the pvc in, saying they would dig it up later and then put the pipe in. Who fills in a trench then dig it up again to put a pipe in it. ??

So next I was putting in a stair case and need a 2 x 2 x 2ft cement block with re-bar put in the ground before the tile was installed.

So at the end of the week I was looking over the installed tile and noticed my re-bar unit laying in my garden, they forgot to install the cement and the re-bar , so they had to pull up the tile again and so I could hire someone to do the job they forgot, oh yes at this point I am having no part in Anthony Sylvan doing anything outside the contract.

Now I had my yard professionally re-planted and they have put all the construction cement and other junk in my newly planted garden, screwing all the new stuff up so I have to replace those plants now.

So at this time all the tile isn’t down and I remind them I had low voltage lighting around my house before they ripped it out, and reminded them were hired to just remove the plants, so I spent another hundred for all new wiring laid it out on top of the tile and said before you get all the tile down you need to laid down this new low voltage wire.

OMG the guy from Sylvan pool goes off on my why do you want lighting there you do not need it and on and on, ( ps I got divorced because I got sick of listening to why I couldn’t do something) and it was a big flash back this guy is my ex-wife all over again telling me what I need and do not need.

So I look out the next day and all the tile is down and the wired are still laying on top of the tile, I called the rep down and they are all pissed now because I want the tiles taken up to install the wire, really didn’t we go over this two days ago when the tile wasn’t installed yet.

Ok let’s move on to the finish they up sold me to a better finish and I was ok with that when I saw how nice the samples were in the showroom why not, Does my pool look anything close to that not a chance now it’s my problem.

During the tile installation in the pool and spa I notice the worst job of installing tile ever, getting anything straight and level wasn’t in there book, then they cut the tiles dry crippling all the cut areas. So the project manager is called to look at the tile and ask what is my problem with the tile??? Really Stevie Wonder called and said he had a problem with the tile install. ( for those of you that do not know he is a blind singer), so after a lot of talking ( and that is putting it lightly) they agreed to take it all out and start over.

But get this they are using the same tile over with all the clips in them and all cut different heights too. See the report from a legal tile inspector, this is all they do and they opinions hold up in court every time.

And there is so much more but I hope you get the picture by now.

Let’s move on to getting the pool fired up, now remember we agreed before I signed the check I would have a working pool for July 4th that means heated too.

So they call me 4 days after the last inspector has signed off the pool and everything completed, done, the city never has to come back and say oh you need to call the gas company and get a bigger meter installed. I called and the gas company gives me a date of July 8th so there goes my promised pool party thanks Anthony Clown Sylvan pool company no one cares or listens to you from that company.

So them I called since the pool is full of dirt and other stuff, the company they use to get the pool ready and turn it over to the new owner doesn’t have my name listed as an owner so I am out of luck. I go to the office and ask for my manuals, remote control or anything that will help me understand how to get this pool operational and I was told sorry we can’t help you and no one in our company is available to help you and no one is returning our calls to help you either.

So now it’s up to me to hire a plumber to hook up the heater and try to get it to work, hire someone to clean the pool etc.

Like I said NEVER ERVER NEVER EVER BUY A POOL FORM THIS COMPANY

Desert Floor Inspection report

Anthony Sylvan's reply to:

Pool Construction | Anthony Sylvan review from Beaufort, South Carolina

I'm very sorry to hear this and thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. I'd really appreciate the opportunity to speak with you to better understand your concerns, but unfortunately I have been unable to locate an account based on your feedback. Please send me an email, customercare@anthonysylvan.com, with the address on your account and the best phone # to reach you.

I hope to speak with you soon.

Very Sincerely,

Owen
Customer Care
Review
#241632 Review #241632 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I have never seen a compnay that has such a terrible response time in regards to getting back to the customer. What should be a very joyous time with our new family investment has turned out ot be a big disappointment.

#1 They deal with subcontractors that are unethical. I had a their electrician bid on extra work in regards to landscape lighting and extra outlets etc.... I just wanted a quote. They went ahead started the work without my consent and is charging me 40% higher than I know I can get it done for.

#2 They can NEVER commit to a completion date

#3 They comnpleted the pool and nver ran the gas line. It has been almost 2 weeks and I still do not know how they are going to resolve this.

They are a very frustrating company to deal with. They take your money and RUN.

Keith Anderson

Anthony Sylvan's reply to:

Anthony and Sylvan pools, shoddy reopening | Anthony Sylvan review from Arlington, Virginia

Thank you very much for sharing these concerns with us. I'd really appreciate the opportuntiy to speak with you to better understand your experience and to work with you to try to find a positive resoloution to your concerns. Unfortunately, I have been unable to locate an account based on your feedback. Please send me an email, customercare@anthonysylvan.com, with the address on your account and the best phone # to reach you.

I hope to speak with you soon.

Very Sincerely,

Owen
Customer Care
Review
#168490 Review #168490 is a subjective opinion of poster.

In May 2009, AS Pool came to our house to open the pool. When they came, I was not home but my husband, who was very ill, was home.

My husbank was not able to monitor them because he was too sick.

When the left, the skimmers were left not working and the timer to turn the filter on and off was also not working.

They did not tell us that they had not done the skimmers so for a week I kept trying to figure out what was wrong. When I finally called AS, they said they did not hook up the skimmers because there was not enough water in the pool.

My question was "when were you going to tell us the skimmers were not hooked up/" Anyway, they came back out, a week later, and finished up the job. The timer on the filter was never fixed.